• Check your VMS prior to installing the cameras
  • Check your network load prior to installing the cameras
  • Check your Operation Center prior to installing the cameras

Audit and benchmark of large scale ip video systems

A video surveillance system is composed of three major layers : from the edge to the core, the sensors (cameras), the network and the computer infrastructures including video management systems and operator workstations.
During the design phase, assessing the servers capacity is a key but delicate step that only relies on constructors and software vendors abacus and computations. While these data allow a straightforward computation of the required bandwidth or storage capacity required for the system (related to the number of cameras, number of frames per second, number of days video must be kept) they fail giving an accurate idea of the CPU power necessary for the operator viewing PCs.
VMS software vendors cannot either give any precise information about CPU power or graphic card for the operators workstations since it depends of the use of the VMS (Video Management System), of the number of screens per station, of the number of concurrent camera feeds per screen.
During installation and commissioning phases problems happen, that should have been resolved during design phase.
Beside, launching a test phase of the operation control room (urban operation center for instance), is strictly conditionned by the installation and commissioning of the cameras and the network. It is not possible to test VMS software and network video recorders in real scale prior to that.
An elegant solution to this set of project scheduling problems is carried out by the Xstream Generator software from DOO Technologies company. It allows to record video samples from a vast panel of Onvif compliant cameras and to use those footages to emulate cameras by producing recorded video endlessly.
Very effective, Xstream Generator needs few CPU and RAM per virtual camera on the Windows PC running it. It becomes possible to emulate more than 1000 cameras on a high power PC, with network bandwidth as sole real limitation.
Xstream info request

• Testez votre VMS avant l’installation des caméras
  • Testez la montée en charge de votre réseau avant l’installation des caméras
  • Testez votre centre d’opérations avant l’installation des caméras

Audit et benchmark de grands systèmes de vidéo sur IP

Un système de vidéosurveillance sur IP est constitué de trois composants essentiels : les caméras, le réseau et les infrastructures serveurs et postes opératoires.
Lors de la phase de conception, le dimensionnement des serveurs est un étape cruciale qui ne peut s'appuyer que sur des évaluations de débit et de puissance de calcul et des abaques fournies par les constructeurs d'équipement et les éditeurs de logiciels d'exploitation (Video Management Systems - VMS). Si ces données permettent de calculer facilement la bande passante ou la capacité de stockage requise pour le système (en fonction du nombre de caméras, de la résolution, du nombre d'images par seconde et de la durée de conservation des images) elles ne donnent aucune information précise sur la puissance nécessaire au niveau des PC d'exploitation.
De la même manière, les éditeurs de VMS ne peuvent donner de renseignements précis sur la puissance CPU ou la carte graphique des postes opérateurs car elle dépend de l'utilisation faite du logiciel VMS, du nombre d'écran par poste, du nombre de caméras par écran et des enchainements de caméras.
Ainsi, en phase de réalisation se posent des problèmes de dimensionnement qui auraient du être résolus dans la phase de conception du système.
Par ailleurs, pour lancer la phase de test d'une salle d'opération de vidéosurveillance, (Centre de Surveillance Urbaine par exemple) il faut attendre que les caméras soient installées pour tester les logiciels VMS et les enregistreurs.

Une solution élégante à cet ensemble de problèmes est apportée par le logiciel XStream Generator de la société DOO technologies. Il permet d'enregistrer des échantillons de vidéo IP sur des caméras IP compatibles avec le standard ONvif puis d'émuler la caméra en produisant la vidéo de l'échantillon capturé.
Très performant, le logiciel XStream Generator consomme peu de CPU et de mémoire sur le PC sous Windows qui l'exécute. On peut ainsi émuler plus de 1000 caméras sur un PC, avec comme limitation essentielle la bande passante de la carte réseau.

Xstream Generator
Demande d’informations sur Xstream