Video surveillance is the most visible technology in physical security. It moved into the mainstream digital age in 2004 when the first MPEG-4 cameras were released to the market. Today, it benefits from the very high interest that digital image and video that smartphones have motivated in the mass market, both in terms of surveillance camera presence acceptation (which represent a very small part of overall cameras) and in terms of technological developments.
The main technological breakouts are dealing with image sensor quality, resolution and video analytics. The challenge remains the management of a steady growing number of cameras spread over a steady larger area. It is not strictly a problem of technology, but also of methodology and ergonomy.
In the vast urban areas like Marseille, Lyon, Paris, 1000+ cameras are targetted. The french public transportation organization in Paris, RATP, manages more than 7500 cameras, including subway and buses.

More cameras, more resolution bring in additional problems about performance and capacity for visualizing and storing video. Tis must be taken into account when doing system design and architecture. Recording video has a relative value depending on the facility to retrieve relevant evidences when necessary. Hence, the greatest chalenge for video surveillance remains to be really useful, first in real time, by allowing to intervene as quickly as possible, then a posteriori, when nothing was done to prevent the crime.

Nevertheless, fight against organized crime and terrorism is raising the bar and leads to consider video surveillance as one of the intelligence tools, last rempart against these homeland plagues. It is not anymore about immediate response from operators, it is about taking into account the most minors observations into a system capable of consolidate, correlate information at the global scale of the territory; Image remains important but not as much as its interpretation, as the thorough description of observed scenes, as the meticulous storage and indexation of this information that will be the fuel of statistic analytics algorithms. Those analytics will trigger the move to a radicaly different paradigm for security, the shift from reaction to prediction to identify threats before they are executed.

 

Canon-VB-C300

At the technical level, digital sensors have already overcome analog ones (10 to 20 Mpx). The Megapixel IP cameras that evolved since 2004 have exceeded 25 Mpx today.

250 Megapixel CMOS prototype from Canon

In early 2015, Canon introduced a prototype of Megapixel camera shooting 5 frames per second with a resolution of 250 Megapixels (250 millions, being 19600 x 12600 pixels).

La vidéosurveillance est la technologie la plus visible de la sécurité physique. Elle est passée dans l’ère numérique en 2004 lorsque les premières caméras MPEG-4 sont apparues. Aujourd’hui, elle bénéficie de l’immense engouement pour l’image et la vidéo que les smartphones ont développé dans le grand public, tant sur le plan de l’acceptation de la présence des caméras de surveillance, qui ne représentent qu’une infime minorité par rapport aux caméras des smartphones (qui avoisinent déjà le nombre d’habitants de la planète) que sur le plan des développements technologiques.

Les principales avancées technologiques concernent la qualité, la sensibilité et la résolution du capteur d’image et l’analyse d’image. Le principal challenge à relever étant la gestion d’un nombre croissant de caméras situées sur des territoires de plus en plus vaste. Il ne s’agit pas d’un problème uniquement technologique mais surtout ergonomique et méthodologique.

Dans les grandes agglomérations comme Paris, Marseille ou Lyon on vise à court terme plus de mille caméras urbaines. La RATP gère un parc de plus de 7500 caméras si l’on inclut celles du métro et celles des autobus.

Davantage de caméras, davantage de résolution emmènent des problématiques de performance d’affichage et d’enregistrement qui sont autant de paramètres à prendre en compte dans l’architecture d’un système. Enregistrer n’a cependant qu’une valeur relative tant qu’on n’est pas capable de retrouver les images intéressantes pour analyser les faits a posteriori.

Le plus grand défi de la vidéosurveillance demeure donc d’être réellement utile, utile d’abord en temps réel en permettant d’intervenir au plus vite, utile aussi a posteriori lorsque l’on n’a pas pu empêcher le délit ou le crime. Cependant, la guerre contre le terrorisme et le grand banditisme relève encore les exigences et conduit à considérer la vidéosurveillance comme l’un des outils de la panoplie du renseignement, seul rempart efficace dans la lutte contre ces fléaux intérieurs. Il ne s’agit plus pour les opérateurs de réagir au quart de tour mais de prendre en compte ce qu’ils observent dans un système capable d’agglomérer l’information à grande échelle et de la corréler avec d’autres informations analogues. L’image reste importante, certes, mais pas autant que son interprétation, que la description des scènes observées, que l’archivage soigneux et l’indexation de cette information afin que les algorithmes d’analyse statistique puissent l’utiliser dans l’objectif de déceler et identifier les menaces avant leur mises à exécution.

 

Canon-VB-C300

Sur le plan technique, les caméras ont déjà dépassé la résolution des appareils argentiques (10 à 20 megapixels) avec la génération des caméras dites Megapixels qui ont évolué depuis 2004, passant de 1 Mpixel à plus de 25 Mpixels aujourd’hui.

250 Megapixel CMOS prototype from Canon

En 2015 Canon a présenté un prototype de caméra de 250 Megapixels (250 millions, soit 19600 x 12600 pixels) capable de prendre 5 images par seconde.